In which I (finally) make a formal decision to reenter the world.:

I've made a definitive decision. I'm going to study American Sign Language, and interpret it for a living. It's taken me two years of sitting alone in my room to come to this conclusion without deep reservations, but I've done it.

There was a preview of the whole affair here, but the entry isn't really required reading. The only reason I'm even linking it is because it includes this sentence: 'It's the linguistic equivalent of a gangbang.' And, well, when you find something like that, you have to show it off.

But here's the point: I'll be starting school this fall. Wish I'd done so sooner, but various episodes of flaking out, terror of growing up, and generally being a procrastinating idiot have led to my not enrolling so far. Which is just as well, really. I wasn't ready to reenter formalised education until now. Part of me wants to go this next term, honestly, but I figure it's best to wait until fall. Mostly because I want to visit people in the meantime.

I'm just glad that I'm finally ready for it. Have finally decided what I want to study and, ultimately do with my life. I've occasionally worried that I'd never reach that point, but.

I do want to grow up now. To carry my own weight, and as quickly as possible. And it will take years. And, unlike before, this actually frustrates me. I figure this is a good sign.

I'm actually motivated. As I haven't been in years. It's a huge relief.

I just hope being schooled doesn't interfere with my education.

revoless.
3:17 a.m.
March 16, 2004.
Listening to: Dresden Dolls.

comments? 2.

Deleted or You have to care for it to keep it together.

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland