figured it out:

I recently figured out that my early childhood sexual trauma, for lack of a better word (no desire to think about it deeply enough to be more descriptive), caused me to initially dissociate from my body. I remember actually thinking it didn't matter what he did to my body, or what he had me do with it, because my body belonged to my parents. I had no right to it. I felt like it was the economic property of, well, him.

So when the abuses stopped, I started feeling a little lost. What do I do with this new body that was suddenly given to my care? I did what everyone else had done to it. Starved, hit, cut. I didn't put it into any sexual situations, but that was only because sexual situations involve other people, and I'm not capable of seeking people. It did seem to be a very natural thing to go for, however.

So now everything makes sense. And it seems a bit easier to control things, now. I guess I'm realising that I'm attached to my body, and he is the only reason I spent so long trying to destroy it. And. It's not easy. But it's easier. I think if I learn to actually blame him, it will help more. As it is now, I still mostly blame myself. But. I'm getting better.

I still cut or hit myself when I'm sad. But it's not done in hate, as it so often was, and somehow that seems better to me. Less vile.

I'm reading a story, and a character reminds me of myself. She paints abstract paintings, and she doesn't believe in tame emotions. She's also passive-aggressive as all hell. And very jealous. She also engages in some lovely self-destructive behaviors because of love/jealousy. (Her eyes are even greenish, which I almost consider a personality trait in itself.) Intensity. The only consistent character trait that I have.

It's nice to see myself in pages. I love Japanese literature. And politics. And music. And fashion. My life, lately. Some people take drugs. I worship beauty and knowledge. And then proceed to bounce off of walls.

Oscar Wilde is my role model.

revoless.
3:01 p.m.
March 16, 2002.
comments? 0.

songwriting in my world... or tedium

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland