songwriting in my world...:

I want to write a story about speed reading life. But I'm not one for words, so I don't know if I should. Perhaps I could change it into a song? Take the images, the emotions, the dialogue, the speeds, and build notes around them? Mmm. Difficult things. Especially considering I don't write lyrics. To get specific images across with sound is almost impossible, and is what I'd have to do. ...I'll think about it. And probably end up doing it. (New challenge, rah rah.)

Come to think of it, I could even take the dialogue from the story, and make spoken inserts into the song, making the words blend together like they would in the story, in the end. And the effect would actually be better. Now I just have to figure out how to get the images through with the notes. And it seems much easier. I'm already having the sounds for certain images filter in. Rock on.

Anyway, I feel better now. I was distressed (as I usually am, when I decide I want to create something. Maybe this means I need to be depressed more often.) But now that I've figured out how to use the pictures in a song, I feel better. The same way writing used to make me feel, before I realised I had no talent for it.

Does this mean I have no talent for music? Ohmy. Scary thought.

...I think I've been exposed to enough music to know, though. The problem with my having thought my writing was good, was that I hadn't been exposed to enough authors. Or, at least, I didn't pay enough attention to them. Music, though, I dissect constantly.

I think it would actually work well as a techno song, for the top part. More organic, to start, then finishing completely computerised. Rhythm section has to be completely different though... (Sorry, thoughts popping in while I'm trying to write an entry, and I have to type my train of thoughts completely, without break, with pauses, etcetc, or I don't feel it's a true entry.)

This is why I type. Fuck knows I can't write this fast by hand.

--Acoustic bass fading into electric. Starts and stops, later on.

...Definitely going to work better than in story form.

And I obviously can't write a real entry right now.

revoless.
3:37 p.m.
March 15, 2002.
comments? 0.

I believe in truth, and moral absolutes or figured it out

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland