The Wide World of Fashion:

Today held quite a shock. I signed on to find America Online to be extolling not being stick-thin. This, I must say, was quite refreshing. I never have liked the thin-beyond-curves look. I like for women to have hips, and legs with a bit more shape than a clothes hanger. I'm terribly sorry for being anti-fashion, but that is how I feel about this issue. Initially, when the super-thin model was conceived of as ideal, it was merely to distract attention from the model, and bring the eyes purely to the clothing. The idea was to take the woman, and strip her of being a woman, to make her, instead, the walking vessel for clothes to be viewed upon. In other words, the aforementioned clothes hanger. I don't want to be a clothes hanger. I like wearing my clothes, as opposed to them wearing me. And I do.

I follow any trend, or anti-trend, that catches my fancy. Lately I've been fond of pastel and flowered dresses with uneven hemlines, coupled with fifty or so bracelets in a single outing, along with a good many bead necklaces (either that or a crucifix with a choker, depending upon the outfit). I walk like a model, one foot crossing over the other. It gives you that flattering thigh angle, and frankly I find it easier to walk that way in heels, with my dizzy disposition. I dress up whenever I please, wear outfits that others would only consider for Halloween whenever it suits me. You really can get away with anything in fashion, if you wear the outfit with confidence and grace. I have a bad habit of pleasing almost everyone with what I wear, in the end. The idea is to push elegance just past the edge into trashiness, but somehow the way in which I wear it makes everyone nod in approval. Those who know of fashion admire how I always seem to be following at least one of the newest trends, intentionally or no; the freaks seem to admire that I have a completely original style that doesn't fit into any particular trend box, while still looking acceptable. Even the older generations like what I wear most times, which is what really shocks me. Some admire it for individuality, some for elegance, some for colour coordination... I've had so many sincere comments from people that it doesn't entirely make sense.

My body is a work of art, I realise this, and take full advantage of it. I just never expected my odd form of art to be accepted by so many different people.

revoless.
4:59 p.m.
2001-04-17.
comments? 0.

Sleep Molding or An obsessive tendency or two.

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland