clothes talk, mostly:

In my math class today, several people, and the teacher discussed how much of a waste it was to spend money on shoes. They said that you should spend from $10-$25 on a pair, and any more than that is a waste. I thought of the things I know about fashion, and dressing. The general consensus, outside of my classroom, is that if you're going to spend money on clothes, you spend it on shoes. Personally, this always made sense to me. You simply cannot find fashionable shoes very cheaply. If you're lucky you'll spend around $50. Less than that, and the shoes are probably low-quality, or ugly. This is just fact.

Nonetheless, I found myself sinking down into my chair, while the conversation was happening. Me and my $160 boots (which I paid $80 for, but still). To my credit, I only own four pairs of shoes, and none of them are tennis shoes, but. Yeah. Anyway...

More clothes. Sixth period. Said with extreme shock: "Melinda, you're wearing jeans!" I looked around a bit, nodded. Yes, I'm wearing jeans. Have been all day, thank you. That period I was also told, by another person, that I looked nice.

Now, I was wearing my 'prep outfit' today. Sweater and jeans. What the fuck? I don't wear that outfit to get compliments. I don't wear it for anyone to notice at all. When I put it on, the logic is thus: The pants are because they are a tight, stiff material. They don't give. They provide me with emotional support, thanks to this. They're like my bracelets, in warmer months. The sweater is needed because I need something huge and dark to hide in. Big, saclike, dark. This means it's a good hiding place, for me. So the outfit, altogether makes me have support and a hiding place. Not a forum for receiving compliments. (If only the rest of the world understood my emotional code of dressing...)

Added two more pictures. (I am not a pretty girl, but I like exposing myself here. It's fun.)

I should go write an essay, or do something similarly productive. But I don't want to. So nyah.

revoless.
3:46 p.m.
March 21, 2002.
comments? 0.

odd handwriting may be a bad thing... or 88-92-96

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland