I'm a donkey alright.:

I like talking about music. I like talking about politics, and books, and abstract ideas. But beyond that? I'm a closed off figure.

'I think,' and 'I feel,' never come out of my mouth. Save the occasional, frustrated groan. And then only with people I trust, when I think they're not really listening.

I'm afraid of reproach, I think. I'm terrified of criticism. I can talk about several, surface topics without incident. I know my shit when it comes to art and politics and history and religion. I spend countless hours learning, absorbing, digesting, just to make absolutely certain that I'm in a near-irreproachable position. Or at least so that I can get myself to a state where I can take anything anyone says without feeling like I'm being personally insulted by it.

I can't do that with emotional issues. I can't do it with unfounded opinions. I can't do it for things that can't be supported with facts, figures, anecdotes from history. So I don't talk about anything personal. Because all really personal things are at least somewhat irrational. And that leaves me vulnerable, which is still my biggest fear.

I can do small talk well. I often don't, because I don't particularly enjoy bullshitting, but I'm well aware that I can. I'm more aware and better educated than most folks seem to be, which helps a lot.

But I do learn these things as a defense. Because I'm afraid of not knowing everything. Of being wrong. And I learn these things because I'm afraid of running out of things to say, which I do a lot.

There's only so far you can go into a relationship with a person without revealing any of yourself. Any of your dreams or feelings or irrational convictions. And we all have them, as much as I might try to kill mine.

But I can't reveal those. I don't trust people to do anything but beat them down. So I keep them locked inside, and I peer through my wall, and I put off a veneer or coolness or brilliance, depending on the observer's luck. Usually coolness. Most do see me as aloof. A snob, really.

I want to be open. I do. But I have no idea how to be. Whenever I think of speaking about anything that really matters to me, my heart leaps into my throat and I choke. Silent.

No wonder I haven't been able to form a lasting relationship with anyone I've met in over four years.

revoless.
6:29 p.m.
February 04, 2004.
Listening to: Minus the Bear.

comments? 0.

Music as religion or liar? me? well...

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland