learning from dreams:

My dreams have been rather bad lately. Not frightening so much as an uninterrupted progression of increasingly strange, unsettling phenomenon. The effect is a lingering sense of unease that lasts through the dream and the day that follows.

I'm not even certain what it is, exactly. I tend not to remember the dreams very well. From what I remember, I think the most disturbing part of the dreams is that everything seems subtly off. Tilted at unusual angles. The buildings lean at subtle, acute or obtuse angles. The busses are trapezoids. The faces of the people are disproportionate to their bodies. The cars have no wheels, and stop and start with no rhythm or logic.

The content of the dreams is ordinary enough, but these features make the atmosphere feel so completely wrong that my skin ends up crawling, especially in the face of the normality of the actions and speeches of the people in my dreams.

It's like the world has turned upside down, but everyone is proceeding as normal. There we go. That's the terrifying part.

Last night wasn't bad though. Everything was still off, but there were events in the dream to counteract the dizziness that the world induced, and these played a bigger part as the dream went on.

Perhaps I should seek these balancing things, people, in real life. They could make my world seem less skewed, perhaps.

revoless.
10:45 p.m.
January 26, 2004.
Listening to: Voltaire.

comments? 1.

This is what happens when I start making mental outlines (or: an amateur's discourse on writing) or Music as religion

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland