In which I fail miserably to explain my tastes:

Disclaimer: This entry is pretty terrible. You may want to skip it entirely. Or at least only read the first half of it. After that point I completely lose it and proceed to talk in circles. So yes. After I stop talking about music, just stop with the reading. I'm just leaving the latter half of the entry there because this one would be too short otherwise. Like the rest of my entries lately. Err...

I keep wanting to make a mix cd. No. I keep wanting to make millions of mix cds. I have about ten themes rushing through my brain at the moment, and I can't decide between them.

If you're making a mix cd about sleep, and a song in question uses sleep as a metaphor for death, is it still appropriate to use the song? I've been stalling with regard to making the mix for weeks now because I can't decide.

I angst far too much about little things. But I already have trouble listening to my alcohol mix because it has Lullaby for the Working Class and Mayday on it, which feels redundant. I should've anticipated that. I don't want to make such a mistake again. So poo on not thinking too much about mix cds. They have to be perfect(!!) I really need to sign up with art of the mix one of these days.

Went out...somewhere today. I don't even remember. Passed by Goodwill and looked out the window and stared.

I have far too many clothes. This situation only got worse after I realised that all (or almost all) of my favourite articles of clothing came from thrift shops. They're the Twilight Zone of the shopping world. I heart them.

I've spent hours in them at a time, handling dirty hangers and putting on other people's clothes.

If I can picture another person wearing it nonironically, I don't buy it. If I can picture myself wearing it non-ironically, I do. If I can picture another person wearing it ironically (but not myself doing so), I don't buy it. ...I guess this is simple, really. If I can picture myself wearing the article of clothing either ironically or nonironically I buy it. That was a rambling and convoluted way to end up at a simple conclusion.

What I can see myself wearing is a bit complicated, but I'm not sure how to describe it. That's the complicated bit. I like to blur boundaries a lot, I think. Between ugly and cute. Between male and female. Between old and new. Anything that seems to straddle any of these is fair game to me. Anything loud is fair game to me. (And of course anything that looks good on me is fair game. I bought a dress during my last trip purely because it looked amazing on my figure. How often I wear it will be another matter, of course.)

I think I probably need to think more about my taste in clothes before I can write a definitive entry about them. I think my fashion sense is very similar to my taste in music, in that it's very hard to pigeonhole. There are trends. (And perhaps the fashion trends are consistent with the musical trends...) But ultimately there are too many exceptions to say 'I am ____.' At least in my opinion.

Music and fashion. Delicate arts. Meant to be fucked with as much as possible.

revoless.
10:37 p.m.
September 10, 2003.
Listening to: July 30 mix cd.

comments? 1.

Talking of nothing or Depression talk. Not much new. Venting

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland