Mostly music talk:

This is my favourite time of day. Predawn, post-dawn. Anytime when the rest of the world is asleep. My mind is finally clear, which is a very good thing. Rather hope that starts coming along more often. And it should. I am not worried on that count.

Was making soup and thinking about music. Indie vs. major labels, mostly. I have trouble understanding why anyone would want to sign to a major. If an indie label can let a band live comfortably selling 20,000 records, when with that same count on a major you'd be hurting, I really don't see how the major is a better deal. Especially when the indie labels tend to give more control and room to experiment to the artists. I guess I forget about that four-letter word a lot. Fame. I think it's because relatively few artists I like are particularly famous. I know the odds. I know how fame occurs. I just don't see the sparkle, I suppose. I'm not particularly against it, I just don't see why people would be willing to get fucked over for the sake of it. Perhaps my view of majors is a bit too negative. I know any label can screw people over. But. Trends, really. Things I've heard bands say about things have skewed my perceptions to where they are now. (I can't be held responsible!)

I just forget fame exists sometimes, I think. I have no idea who half of the 'famous' pop/rock/whatever stars are now. I don't recognise the faces or the names, because I don't pay attention to the media forms that flaunt them too terribly much (or at all). What I do know of these things I mostly learnt through my brother (who has been unforgivably into metal lately. This makes me look at him oddly, because yes, I am a snob. I'd rather he be into pop!)

Hm. What else. Genre qualms. Specifically no one knowing what the hell the words 'goth' and 'emo' mean. I guess this is probably true of most genres of music. Any tag commandeered by the mainstream tends to get mauled into a form completely unlike the original. (Dashboard Confessional is nothing like Rites of Spring. Linkin Park is nothing like Bauhaus.) Sometimes I think all good music died in the 80's. But that's just me being pissy, and should be ignored.

I just hate having to explain what I'm listening to in detail. It's nice to have a genre tag to apply when explaining what a band sounds like. It's easier than using music theory terms, at least when their meaning is understood. But when the same word is used to describe so many diametrically opposite sounds... It's hell. Every time I say 'goth' I have to wonder if people think I'm listening to Marilyn Manson, or some shitty soundalike. Every time I say 'emo' I have to wonder if people think I'm listening to, I don't know, Something Corporate.

It's depressing. I'm almost glad I don't know enough about the actuality vs public perception in other genres of music. I might just have to kill myself from the tragedy of it all, if I did.

revoless.
5:37 a.m.
August 23, 2003.
Listening to: Clem Snide.

comments? 2.

In which there is much bouncing or Yay! I have weak tendons!

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland