In which there is much bouncing:

Shopping is always amusing. Not because I buy things, as I usually restrain myself to relative necessities.

Okay, so I bought some incredibly cute kiddie barrettes today. I did need them, as my bangs are getting ridiculous, I just hadn't planned on buying them. Besides, they were at the dollar store, so where's the harm? Oh. And coloured pencils. Also from the dollar store. It appears that I only impulse buy when things are insanely cheap and just a little bit trashy.

Oh, that reminds me. How I've been dressing lately. Well, a lot of the time. Occasionally I still go for insanely pretty, old fashioned, and a bit gothic. Occasionally I still throw on a tshirt and jeans and say fuckit. But a good amount of the time I've just taken to dressing as tackily as possible. Furry purple vests. Neon green, flowered dresses. Fuck, I don't even know. So much of it is becoming normal in my eyes that I occasionally lose track. My mother defends me to my brother by saying that I'm into 'tacky.' And I'm not, really. I just like wearing awful or generally ironic clothing. I like to do it in different ways than the rote ironic route, a lot of the time, but occasionally I slip up. This is mostly due to ignorance on my part. I have, for years, found myself incapable of dressing without making some kind of mockery of myself. I tried to stop that for a while, and my grandmother was very happy, but ultimately it didn't last. I didn't feel like me in 'normal' clothing. I felt like I was simultaneously taking myself too seriously and performing in a grand farce.

Now I'm performing in a grand farce, but I'm sure as hell not taking myself seriously. And that makes all the difference. (I don't believe originality exists, so farces seem inevitable. May as well appeal to my odd sense of humour while I'm playing into society's hands, right?)

Useful quote (from this): 'there is a limit to how far you can take irony before you have to shoot yourself.' I think it explains a lot of what I say and do, at least with regard to word choices and clothing. It explains a lot of the instances in which I end up shocking people.

I got on a gigantic tangent.

The original purpose of this entry was to write about how much I enjoy bouncing around stores and smiling at strangers and singing/dancing in aisles and babbling about the Pretty Coloured Sparkly Things(!!!)

I am easily amused. It's a gift. Especially when it amuses others.

I am sad that they have not brought back Rainbow Brite. I saw some rainbow fabric in a store, and since I have been constantly thinking about Halloween I (literally) jumped up and down while saying 'I could be Rainbow Brite!' Yes, like that. After looking at pictures I am not so sure. I could be mistaken for an anime character perhaps, and that would suck monkey balls. Must think about it a bit more. Still think the idea kicks ass though. I wish I could find my doll. I found and then relost the damned thing in the move. Having almost 400 stuffed animals has its disadvantages. (Some people collect...um...what do normal people collect?)

Anyway. Those are my thoughts of the moment. I'm sure I'll have better ones eventually.

revoless.
9:26 p.m.
August 20, 2003.
Listening to: Les Savy Fav.

comments? 4.

When you least expect them or Mostly music talk

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland