Actual events (gasp) of the weekend.:

I woke up at two this morning. I suppose it must have something to do with the fact that I went to sleep at about seven last night, but all the same, I've slept for longer periods of time than that before. That's only seven hours. I must really be getting used to the whole sleep-deprivation aspect of school, though I am admittedly tired right now. Can't sleep.

So instead I'm sitting here listening to the several (about three-fourths of the album) tracks I've downloaded from the Manics' new album. I prohibited myself from downloading any of it, of course, so as not to spoil the surprise, but I don't listen very well in these matters. It actually comes out in America tomorrow. I'm somewhat wondering if I should place an order at on online site, or wait to see if it shows up in stores, because I did actually find one of their albums in stores around here. No way of knowing what they'll do. Of course, why I didn't just order it from England previously is entirely beyond me. I think perhaps it was a form of subtle self-torture, not very effective. In any case, I'll have a new album soon, so I am a very happy camper.

Alright, going on to a different topic now. Yesterday (and the early hours of the morning that I technically count as the day before, but not in this instance) my brother was not home. I, being the brilliant little girl I am, decided that I would steal his guitar tuner, and see if I could figure it out. I've always tuned my bass by ear, I thought maybe it would be quicker that way. So I fumbled ineptly with technology for about five minutes, not able to make heads or tails of it, returned the tuner, and went back to old methods of tuning by ear. I have this bad habit of thinking technology=better. (I have a sudden urge to look up a Thoreau quote right now, but I'll be good and not, because it's not right to look up quotes for a diary entry.) All the same, from now on I know to rely on ears. Either that or ask my brother how to work the strange little device.

I actually did other things this weekend. My brother had his birthday party on Friday (he turned 14 on the 13th). He only invited a few people, and they basically went upstairs and played with his Playstation 2 for half of the time. So my mother, aunts, my mother's boyfriend, and I were sitting downstairs bored for a bit. Then we decided to play some of the party games. (And I would have won the one where we stuck our hands into a basket and identified things, if my mother's boyfriend hadn't cheated so bleeding often...) It was fun though. Fun conversations, though I can't remember a thing that was said, and I know I probably didn't speak at all. It's nice to see my mother around her sisters, those are the only times she ever laughs, or smiles, or has fun anymore.

She used to be like that all the time, really. Americans really never do grow up past a certain point. My stepfather never grew past the preteen adolescent years. My mother's boyfriend not past elementary school years. My mother herself, probably the teenage years. I don't really know many other people well enough to say. I think I stay in my room too much, but this place is too serene to leave.

After my brother and his friends were done with the Playstation, they came down and ate some worms for us, and then had a squirt gun fight (which I really can't give justice to, it contained such juicy tidbits as the grown man of the house threatening to fill his squirt gun with bleach, and throwing bucketfuls of water out on the kiddies).

We wanted the kiddies to play a nice little game which would involve them dressing in drag, but there simply wasn't enough time at the end of the evening. They likely would have refused anyway, with their concerns for being "cool" and...all of that. (Forgot where I was going.) All the same, it was a nice thing to imagine.

I did some other things this weekend. Productive things that I've been meaning to do for weeks, and simply haven't. I just can't recall what any of those things were at the moment. (Which shows how productive I really was, now, doesn't it?)

I think I'm going to try to sleep again now. This groggy and mundane little entry of actual events (a rarity, truly) is disconcerting me, and making me think maybe I really can sleep now.

revoless.
2:53 a.m.
2001-04-23.
comments? 0.

long, long, music entry or -

newest entry
random entry
older entries
profile
pictures
livejournal
theme song
book excerpt
band list
quiz results
diaryrings
cliques
guestbook
diaryland